homepage background
Cougar Pride Club Banner
Article Image
Courtesy: USF Athletics

Three Cougars Named to NCAA Transitional All-Tourney Team

Courtesy: USF Athletics
          Release: 03/12/2012
Print RSS

Black Hills State University men's basketball head basketball coach Bradd Schafer announced the NCAA Transitional All-Tournament Team today. The University of Sioux Falls, who finished runner-up in the season-ending tournament, was represented by three student-athletes named to the All-Tournament squad in Skyler Bloch, Derek Brown and David Maxwell.

The trio played a vital role in USF's run to the championship game, increasing their contributions with each win, ultimately accounting for 44% of the Cougars total offense throughout the weekend. Their best performance came in the championship game against Lindenwood University, where Bloch, Brown and Maxwell combined to post 54 of USF's 75 points, shooting an impressive 53% from the field in a losing effort.

Each had a big game for the Cougars over the course of the tournament, as both Bloch and Maxwell lead the team in scoring, Bloch (24 points & 16 points) on two occasions and Maxwell (15 points) in the opening round, while Brown provided a majority of the team's 3-point shooting. He finished the tournament 8-15 from behind the arc.

With two wins at the NCAA Transitional Tournament, USF secured their fourth consecutive 20-win season with an overall record of 20-9 in 2012. Despite falling in the championship game, the Cougars finished the year strong securing the top spot at the D2 Vegas Showdown and runner-up in the Transitional Tournament to win eight of their final nine contests.

USF will compete in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference at the start of the 2012-13 academic year.

2012 NCAA Transitional Tournament All-Tournament Team
Kramer Soderberg - Lindenwood University (Tournament MVP)
Alex Brazzell - Lindenwood University
Skyler Bloch - University of Sioux Falls
David Maxwell - University of Sioux Falls
Derek Brown - University of Sioux Falls
Rob Johnson - Black Hills State University
Joey Mitchell - Black Hills State University
Josh Johnson - Minot State University
Chris East - Minot State University
Adam Randall - Minot State University
Tanner Friesen - South Dakota School of Mines

Live & On-demand
Audio and Video
No Live Events in the Near Future